Original Authoring Committee

ERC BEST PRACTICES MANUAL

A Collaborative Product of the NSF Engineering Research Centers

Prepared for

Engineering Research Centers Program Engineering Education and Centers Division Directorate for Engineering

National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia

NOTE

This Manual was originally authored by staff of the Engineering Research Centers in 1996. Subsequent chapters have been added and/or updated periodically by ERC staff in the intervening years. While the document was funded by the National Science Foundation, it is not an NSF publication and does not necessarily reflect official NSF policy.

AUTHORING COMMITTEE

The first edition of this Manual was authored by staff of the Engineering Research Centers in 1996. The committee was comprised of the leaders of six working groups; each working group in turn was comprised of ERC directors, faculty, and staff and was responsible for one chapter. A consultant served as Project Director and overall Editor of the Manual. The leaders (chairs and co-chairs) of those original working groups are listed here as Authors. The six working groups and their members are listed in <u>Appendix A</u>.

AUTHORS (original 1996 edition)

Martha Absher (Director of Outreach, Center for Emerging Cardiovascular Technologies, Duke University)

James Bryers (then Coordinator of Engineering Research, Biofilm Engineering Research Center, Montana State University)

William Costerton (Director, Biofilm Engineering Research Center, Montana State University)

Skip Fletcher (Education Coordinator, Offshore Technology Research Center, Texas A&M University)

Kristina Johnson (Director, Center for Optoelectronic Computing Systems, University of Colorado)

Darlene Joyce (Associate Director for Administration, Center for Interfacial Engineering, University of Minnesota)

Penny LeBourgeois (Assistant Director, Center for Advanced Electronic Materials Processing, North Carolina State University)



Nino Masnari (then Director, Center for Advanced Electronic Materials Processing, North Carolina State University)

Lynn Preston (Deputy Director and ERC Team Leader, Engineering Education and Centers Division, Directorate for Engineering, National Science Foundation)

Marianne Hassan Risley (Administrative Director, Center for Emerging Cardiovascular Technologies, Duke University)

Beth Starbuck (Associate Director of Technology Transfer, Center for Interfacial Engineering, University of Minnesota)

James Williams (Operations Director and Industrial Liaison Officer, Data Storage Systems Center, Carnegie Mellon University)

Project Director/Editor

Courtland Lewis (SciTech Communications, Unicoi TN)

Source URL: https://legacy.erc-assoc.org/content/original-authoring-committee